Academia Baltica


The Academia Baltica was set up in Lübeck in 2001. Its main objectives are the understanding with Germany's eastern neighbours, furthering cooperation based on partnership in the Baltic fringe states and eastern central Europe as well as communicating European history and culture. The academy is a forum that brings together academics and the interested general public. Academics, representatives of NGOs, students, journalists and everyone interested in historical and cultural topics relating to central and eastern Europe meet to discuss and exchange common issues.

The Academia Baltica runs seminars, academic conferences, courses for students, lectures and study trips. Up to a third of participants come from eastern European countries, notably from Poland, Russia, the Czech Republic, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.

The range of topics embraces politics and economy, literature and the arts; we offer bilateral and multinational colloquia on recent history. Lastly, an international cooperation on the media in the Baltic area has been put into motion.
Conference reports and monographs are published regularly in "Colloquia Baltica".

The academy is maintained by Academia Baltica e.V., a charitable organisation. To it belong the German Foreigners Association in Lübeck, the German-Polish Societies in Berlin, Hamburg and Kiel, the German-Baltic Society, the Europa-Union Schleswig-Holstein, the technical University of Lübeck, the city of Lübeck, the Thomas-Mann cultural centre at Nidden (Lithuania) and the association 'Friends of the Academia Baltica’.

The activities of the Academia Baltica have found international recognition. To quote the former president of Latvia, Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga: "This educational institution, which originated in the Baltic Academy in Travemünde, has done a great deal in improving relations amongst the Baltic Sea states and beyond, with Poland and Russia.

Since 2011  the Akademie Sankelmark, the Europäische Akademie Schleswig-Holstein and the Academia Baltica have amalgamated into the Akademiezentrum Sankelmark.

Zur Navigation springen Zum Inhalt springen

Aufgaben und Ziele der 2001 in Lübeck gegründeten Academia Baltica sind die Verständigung mit den östlichen Nachbarn Deutschlands, die Förderung partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit im Ostseeraum und in Ostmitteleuropa sowie die Vermittlung europäischer Geschichte und Kultur. Die Akademie ist eine Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und interessierter Öffentlichkeit, ein Forum für Austausch und Begegnung von Wissenschaftlern, Vertretern von NGOs, Studierenden, Journalisten und allen, die an historisch-kultureller Arbeit in Mittel- und Osteuropa interessiert sind.

Die Academia Baltica veranstaltet Seminare, wissenschaftliche Tagungen, Kurse für Schüler und Studenten, Vorträge und Studienreisen. Von den Teilnehmern kommen bis zu einem Drittel aus den Staaten Ostmitteleuropas, an ihrer Spitze Polen, Russen, Tschechen, Litauer, Letten und Esten.

Die Themen der Akademiearbeit reichen von Politik und Wirtschaft, Literatur und Kunst über bi- und multinationale Colloquia zur jüngeren und jüngsten Geschichte bis hin zur internationalen Medienkooperation im Ostseeraum. Tagungsberichte und Monographien werden in der Schriftenreihe „Colloquia Baltica“ publiziert.

Träger der Akademie ist der gemeinnützige Verein Academia Baltica e.V. mit Sitz in Lübeck. Ihm gehören die Deutsche Auslandsgesellschaft in Lübeck, die Deutsch-Polnischen Gesellschaften in Berlin, Hamburg und Kiel, die Deutsch-Baltische Gesellschaft, die Europa-Union Schleswig-Holstein, die Fachhochschule Lübeck, die Hansestadt Lübeck, das Thomas-Mann-Kulturzentrum in Nidden (Litauen) und der Verein zur Förderung der Academia Baltica an.

Die Arbeit der Academia Baltica hat international Anerkennung gefunden. Die lettische Staatspräsidentin Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga stellte 2006 fest: „Diese Bildungseinrichtung, die aus der Ostsee-Akademie in Travemünde hervorgegangen ist, hat sich vor allem um das Verhältnis zu den Nachbarländern im Ostseeraum verdient gemacht, besonders zu den baltischen Staaten, aber auch zu Polen und Russland.“

Seit 2011 bildet die Academia Baltica zusammen mit der Akademie Sankelmark und der Europäischen Akademie Schleswig-Holstein das Akademiezentrum Sankelmark.

Sie finden unser Angebot interessant?

Anfahrt